July 11, 2009

Timeline (Chronology): Indian National Movement

Timeline (Chronology): Indian National Movement


First War of Indian Independence


British crown takes over the Indian Government, End of East India Company Rule


Birth of Rabindra Nath Tagore


Formation of Indian National Congress


Partition of Bengal announced which came in force from October 16, 1906

1906, Dec 31

Muslim League founded at Decca

1908, April 30

Khudiram Bose executed

1908, July 22

Tilak sentenced to six years on charges of sedition

1909, May 21

Minto-Morley Reforms of Indian Councils Act, 1909


The coronation or Delhi Durbar held at Delhi in which the Partition of Bengal is cancelled


Delhi becomes the new capital of India

1912, Dec 23

Bomb thrown on Lord Hardinge on his state entry into Delhi

1914, Nov 1

Ghadar Party formed at San Francisco

1914, June 16

Bal Gangadhar Tilak released from jail

1914, Aug 4

Outbreak of First World War

1914, Sept 29

Komagatamaur ship reaches Budge (Calcutta Port)

1915, Jan 9

Mahatma Gandhi arrives in India

1915, Feb 19

Death of Gopal Krishan Gokhle

1916, April 28

B.G. Tilak founds Indian Home Rule League with it headquarters at Poona

1916, Sept 25

Another Home Rule League started by Annie Besant

1917, April

Mahatma Gandhi launches the Champaran campaign in Bihar to focus attention on the grievances of Indigo farmers

1917, Aug 20

The Secretary of State for India, Montague, declares that the goal of the British government in India is the introduction of Responsible Government


Beginning of trade union movement in India

1918, April

Rowlatt (Sedition) Committee submits its reports. Rowlatt Bill introduced on Feb 16, 1919

1919, April 13

Jalianwala Bagh Massacre

1919, Dec 5

The House of Commons passes the Montague Chelmsford Reforms or the Government of India Act, 1919. The new reforms under this Act come into force in 1921


First meeting of the All Indian Trade Union Congress (under Narain Malhar Joshi)

1920, Dec

The Indian National Congress (INC) adopts the Non-Cooperation Resolution


Non-Cooperation Movement, suspended on Feb 12, 1922 after the violent incidents at Chauri Chaura on Feb 5, 1922

1922, Aug

Moplah rebellion on the Malabar coast

1923, Jan 1

Swarajist Party formed by Motilal Nehru and others


The Communist Party of India starts its activities at Kanpur

1925, Aug

Kakori Train Conspiracy Case

1927, Nov 8

The British Prime Minister announces the appointment of the Simon Commission to suggest future constitutional reforms in India, Simon Commission arrives in Bombay on Feb 3, 1928 and all-India hartal, Lala Lajpat Rai assaulted by Police in Lahore


Nehru Report recommends principles for the new Constitution of India. All Parties conference considers the Nehru Report, Aug 28-31, 1928

1928, Nov 17

Death of Lala Lajpat Rai


Sarda Act passed prohibiting marriage of girls below 14 and boys below 18 years of age with effect from 1930

1929, March 9

All-Parties Muslim Conference formulates the "Fourteen Points" under the leadership of Jinnah

1929, April 8

Bhagat Singh and Batukeshwar Dutt throw bomb in the Central Legislative Assembly

1929, Oct 31

Lord Irwin's announcement that the goal of British policy in India was the grant of the Dominion status

1929, Dec 31

The Lahore session of the INC adopts the goal of complete independence- Poorna Swaraj for India, Jawaharlal Nehru hoists the tricolour of Indian Independence on the banks of the Ravi at Lahore

1930, Jan 26

First Independence Day observed

1930, Feb 14

The Working Committee of the INC meets at Sabarmati and passes the Civil Disobedience resolution

1930, March 12

Mahatma Gandhi launches the Civil Disobedience movement with his epic Dandi March (March 12 to April 6), First Phase of Civil Disobedience Movement: March 12, 1930 to March 5, 1931

1930, Nov 30

First Round Table Conference begins in London to consider the report of the Simon Commission

1931, March 5

Gandhi-Irwin pact signed, Civil Disobedience movement suspended

1931, March 23

Bhagat Singh, Sukh Dev and Rajguru executed

1931, Sept 7

Second Round Table Conference

1931, Dec 28

Mahatma Gandhi returns from London after the deadlock in Second Round Table Conference. Launches Civil Disobedience Movement. Indian National Congress (INC) declared illegal

1932, Jan 4

Mahatma Gandhi arrested and imprisoned without trial

1932, Aug 16

British Prime Minister Ramsay Macdonald announces the infamous "Communal Award"

1932, Sept 20

Mahatma Gandhi begins his epic "Fast unto Death" in jail against the Communal Award and ends the fast on Sept 26 after the Poona Pact

1932, Nov 17

The Third Round Table Conference begins in London (Nov 17 to Dec 24)

1933, May 9

Mahatma Gandhi released from prison as he begins fast for self-purification. INC suspends Civil Disobedience Movement but authorises Satyagraha by individuals


Mahatma Gandhi withdraws from active politics and devotes himself to "Constructive Programmes" (1934-39)

1935, Aug 4

The Government of India Act, 1935 passed


Elections held in India under the Act of 1935 (Feb 1937). The INC contests election and forms ministries in several provinces (July 1937)

1938, Feb 19-20

Haripura session of Indian National Congress (INC). Subhash Chandra Bose elected Congress president

1939, March 10-12

Tripuri session of the INC

1939, April

Subhash Chandra Bose resigns as the president of the INC

1939, Sept 3

Second World War (September 1). Great Britain declares war on Germany; the Viceroy declares that India too is at war

1939, Oct 27 - Nov 5

The Congress ministries in the provinces resign in protest against the war policy of the British government

1939, Dec 22

The Muslim League observes the resignation of the Congress ministries as "Deliverance Day"

1940, March

Lahore session of the Muslim League passes the Pakistan Resolution

1940, Aug 10

Viceroy Linlithgow announces August Offer

1940, Aug 18-22

Congress Working Committee rejects the "August Offer"

1940, Oct 17

Congress launches Individual Satyagraha Movement

1941, Jan 17

Subhash Chandra Bose escapes from India; arrives in Berlin (March 28)

1942, March 11

Churchill announces the Cripps Mission

1942, Aug 7-8

The Indian National Congress (INC) meets in Bombay; adopts "Quit India" resolution

1942, Aug 9

Mahatma Gandhi and other Congress leaders arrested

1942, Aug 11

Quit India movement begins; the Great August Uprising

1942, Sept 1

Subhash Chandra Bose establish the Indian National Army "Azad Hind Fauz"

1943, Oct 21

Subhash Chandra Bose proclaims the formation of the Provincial Government of Free India

1943, Dec

Karachi session of the Muslim League adopts the slogan "Divide and Quit"

1944, Jan 25

Wavell calls Simla Conference in a bid to form the Executive Council of Indian political leaders

1946, Feb 18

Mutiny of the Indian naval ratings in Bombay

1946, March 15

British Prime Minister Attlee announces Cabinet Mission to propose new solution to the Indian deadlock; Cabinet Mission arrives in New Delhi (March 14); issues proposal (May 16)

1946, July 6

Jawaharlal Nehru takes over as Congress president

1946, Aug 6

Wavell invites Nehru to form an interim government; Interim Government takes office (Sept 2)

1946, Dec 9

First session of Constituent Assembly of India starts. Muslim League boycotts it

1947, Feb 20

British Prime Minister Attlee declares that the British government would leave India not later than June, 1948

1947, March 24

Lord Mountbatten, the last British Viceroy and Governor-General of India sworn in (March 24, 1947 to June 21, 1948)

1947, June 3

Mountbatten Plan for the partition of India and the announcement (June 4) that transfer of power will take place on August 15

1947, Aug 15

India becomes independent.


No comments: