October 19, 2013

Some Important Treaties Signed by Indian Government in 2012

India - Various
India's Minister for Finance, Sri Palanimanickam told the upper house of parliament on December 13, 2012, that the nation is engaged in negotiations towards DTAs with Albania, Bhutan, Chile, Croatia, Cuba, Fiji, Hong Kong, Iran, Latvia, Macedonia, Senegal and Venezuela.

Belarus - India
Belarus and India signed a DTA on November 14, 2012.

India - United Kingdom
The UK tax authority, HM Revenue and Customs, has confirmed that a Protocol to the DTA between India and the UK was signed on October 30, 2012.

Korea, South - India
South Korea and India discussed opening negotiations towards a Protocol to revise their DTA on November 2, 2012.

India - Various
The Indian govenrment has signed two Protocols to amend the nation's 1993 DTAs with Spain and the United Kingdom.

India - Spain
India and Spain signed a Protocol to their DTA on October 26, 2012.

Macedonia - India
A spokesperson for the Macedonian government confirmed on October 9, 2012, that the nation is to commence negotiations with India towards the conclusion of a DTA.

United Arab Emirates - India
According to preliminary media reports, the United Arab Emirates Cabinet on September 23, 2012, approved a Protocol to revise the nation's 1993 DTA with India.

India - Spain
Spain's government on September 7, 2012, approved the signing of a Protocol to amend the 1993 India-Spain DTA.

India - Guernsey
The Indian government in notification no. 30/2012 of August 9, 2012, confirmed the ratification of the DTA signed between Guernsey and India on December 20, 2011.

India - Lithuania
The DTA signed between India and Lithuania on July 26, 2011, entered into force on July 10, 2012, and will be effective, in India, from April 1, 2013.

Monaco - India
According to preliminary media reports, Monaco and India signed a TIEA on July 31, 2012.

India - Bangladesh
A spokesperson for India's Foreign Ministry on July 26, 2012, confirmed that negotiations will soon be completed for the conclusion of a Protocol between India and Bangladesh to revise the 1991 DTA.

Indonesia - India
Indonesia and India signed a Protocol on July 27, 2012, to add information exchange provisions to their bilateral DTA.

India - Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka and India will soon sign a DTA, an official from the Sri Lanka government said on July 12, 2012, following approval of a draft agreement by Sri Lanka's parliament.

Bahrain - India
Bahrain and India were expected to sign a TIEA on May 31, 2012.

India - Japan
The Indian government on May 24, 2012, published a notification announcing the entry into force of an amendment to the DTA between India and Japan. The revised provisions became effective on April 1, 2012.

Lithuania - India
Lithuania on May 4, 2012, ratified the pending DTA the nation signed with India.

Jersey - India
The Jersey government on May 17, 2012, confirmed that the TIEA signed between Jersey and India in November 2011 entered into force on May 8, 2012.

Netherlands - India
India and the Netherlands signed a Protocol on May 10, 2012, to add tax information exchange provisions to the two countries' existing DTA.

India - Malaysia
India and Malaysia signed a DTA on May 9, 2012, .

Estonia - India
Estonia's parliament approved a law on May 2, 2012, that would ratify the pending DTA between Estonia and India.

India - Switzerland
India and Switzerland signed a Protocol to amend their DTA on April 20, 2012, the Indian government announced on April 30, 2012. The agreement contains terms on the exchange of information for tax matters.

Estonia - India
According to preliminary media reports, Estonia's parliament on April 2, 2012, approved a law that would ratify the DTA and accompanying Protocol signed between Estonia and India.

United Arab Emirates - India
According to the Indian government, India and the United Arab Emirates signed a DTA on April 16, 2012.

India - Taiwan
The DTA between Taiwan and India, which entered into force on August 12, 2012, and is effective for Taiwanese income from January 1, 2012, became effective for taxes due in India from April 1, 2012.

Macedonia - India
On March 5, 2012, India and Macedonia commenced negotiations towards a bilateral DTA.

India - Norway
According to preliminary media reports, the DTA signed between Norway and India on February 2, 2011, will become effective for taxes liable in India from April 1, 2012. The agreement has been effective in Norway, since January 1, 2012.

Saint Kitts and Nevis - India
It was announced on February 1, 2012, that the St Kitts and Nevis Cabinet has approved a draft TIEA with India.

India - Thailand
Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh revealed on January 25 that India and Thailand have signed a revised a DTA.

India - Macau
India and Macau signed a TIEA on January 1, 2012, an official at the Indian government confirmed on January 25, 2012.

India - Georgia
India has ratified the pending DTA between India and Georgia, publishing the document in the country's Official Gazette on January 6, 2012.

India - Various
The Indian government on December 27, 2011, notified authorities in the Cayman Islands and Switzerland that it had completed its individual ratification procedures, to permit the entry into force of a DTA with the Cayman Islands and a Protocol amending the DTA it shares with Switzerland.


No comments: