Election Commission
•          Article 324 of the Constitution of India has provided for an Election Commission.
•          It is a permanent Constitutional body and is 3-Member Body.
•          The Election Commission was established on 25 January 1950. Originally the commission had only a Chief Election Commissioner. But, currently the commission consists of a Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and two Election Commissioners, appointed by the president of India. Which was seen as a move by politicians to curtail the commissioner's ability to act aggressively. The concept of multi-member Commission has been in operation since 1993, with decision making power by majority vote.

Chief Election Commissioner
Useful for Indian constitution General Knowledge Questions answers, Election Commission of India General knowledge  and General Awareness questions with answers, gk on Indian constitution for Bank Exams, UPSC Civil Service CSAT, APPSC and SSC CGL Exams, general awareness for banking exams.
Symbol of Election Commission
The President of India appoints the Chief Election Commissioner and two Election Commissioners.
Service conditions of Chief Election Commissioner:
1.         Chief Election Commission shall be appointed for a term of 6 years or till he attain an age of 65 years.
2.         He is ineligible for reappointment after his retirement.
3.         He is ineligible to hold any office of profit under the State after his retirement.
4.         His salary, allowances and pensions are charged under Consolidated Fund of India (CFI).
5.         His salaries, allowances and pensions cannot be reduced except during a financial emergency.
6.         He draws salaries and allowances at par with those of the Judges of the Supreme Court of India.