June 23, 2013

The highlights of the Disaster Management Act, 2005

1. Creation of new institutions at National level, State level and District level as follows:
i) National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA)
ii) State Disaster Management Authority (SDMA)
iii) District Disaster Management Authority (DDMA)
 2. Constitution of National Disaster Response Force (NDRF)
3. Setting up of National Disaster Reserve funds and State Disaster Reserve Fund for immediate response
4. Formation of National Institute of Disaster Mitigation (NIDM) for building the capacities of various stake
holders involved in Disaster Mitigation and Response programs
5, Multi-stakeholder participation of Corporates and NGOs in the Disaster Relief, Rehabilitation, Mitigation
and Risk Reduction work
6. A National Executive Committee (NEC) was constituted under the NDMA with Union Home Secretary as
the Chairperson to monitor, co-ordinate and oversee the functions of the Departments concerned with
respect to Disaster Mitigation
7. The State level Relief and Rehabilitation Departments were renamed as Department of Disaster
Management and held responsible for Disaster Mitigation, Risk Reduction, Preparedness and early


No comments: